Reference BooksInstructional videosEvaluating WebsitesScholarly and Peer-reviewed Sources
Books at HussonOnline E-Books
Databases A-Z
This is the "Reference Books" page of the "Computer Information Systems" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Computer Information Systems  

Last Updated: Jul 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.husson.edu/computerinformationsystems Print Guide RSS Updates

Reference Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Reference Tool: Credo Reference


Overview of topics. A good place to start research on any topic. 100 reference books online, including encyclopedias, dictionaries and images.

Video Tutorials: 

 Basic Search

 

 Find a Book

 

Mind Map Searching

 

Britannica Online: Academic

Get an overview of topics, as well as find links to articles, web sites and media clips.  Click the button and choose Britannica Online: Academic Edition from the list displayed to search.

 

General Reference

Cover Art
Encyclopedia of Computer Science - Edwin D. Reilly
ISBN: 0470864125
Publication Date: 2003
Provides an historical timeline highlighting the key breakthroughs in computer science and technology, as well as clear and concise explanations of the latest technology and its practical applications. Each article elaborates on a topic giving a remarkable breadth and depth of coverage.

Cover Art
BCS Glossary of Computing and ICT
ISBN: 1780171501
Publication Date: 2013
The BCS Glossary is the most authoritative and comprehensive work of its kind. This unrivalled study aid and reference tool has newly updated entries and is divided into themed sections making it more than just a list of definitions. Written in an easily accessible style, it is specifically designed to support those taking computer courses or courses where computers are used, including GCSE, A-Level, ECDL and 14-19 Diplomas in Functional Skills in schools and further education colleges.

Cover Art
Dictionary of Multimedia and Internet Applications: A Guide for Developers and Users - Francis Botto
ISBN: 0471986240
Publication Date: 1999
Contains references and illustrations, explains new and emerging technologies, bridges the gap between definition and explanation, and provides useful tradename information.

Topics in Computer Science

  • Artificial Intelligence: Topic Page
    Refers to the science and creation of intelligent machines, and is generally considered within the domain of computer science.
  • Data Encryption
    The process of scrambling stored or transmitted information so that it is unintelligible until it is unscrambled by the intended recipient.
  • Fuzzy Logic
    In mathematics and computing, a form of knowledge representation suitable for notions (such as ‘hot’ or ‘loud’) that cannot be defined precisely but depend on their context.
  • Information Theory
    Mathematical theory formulated principally by the American scientist Claude E. Shannon to explain aspects and problems of information and communication.
  • Integrated Circuit
    Electronic circuit built on a semiconductor substrate, usually one of single-crystal silicon.
  • Neural Networks
    Computer architecture modeled upon the human brain 's interconnected system of neurons.
  • Open Source Software: Topic Page
    Free and open source software (F/OSS) is emerging as a promising alternative to proprietary software. The interest in F/OSS...
  • Virtual Reality
    (VR) or virtual environment (VE), computer-generated environment with and within which people can interact.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip