Reference BooksInstructional videosEvaluating WebsitesScholarly and Peer-reviewed SourcesHuman AnatomyNutritionDiseases and Disorders
Books at HussonOnline E-Books
Databases A-Z
This is the "Databases A-Z" page of the "Healthcare Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Healthcare Studies  

Last Updated: Jul 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.husson.edu/healthcare Print Guide RSS Updates

Databases A-Z Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Databases A-Z

 

What is a Database?

"Can't I Get It on the Internet?"

What are the Differences between the Library’s Online Databases and Internet Web sites?

Here are some differences between the two resources:

Databases:

  • provide access to newspaper, magazine, journal articles and more.
  • let you search for key words to access reliable content.
  • are published by reliable companies, like publishers.
  • are subscribed to by the Husson Library. Free access with your student ID, otherwise databases can't be viewed since they are part of the “hidden” or “deep” Web. Reliable content costs money!
  • work through the Internet, but are not Internet sites.

Internet :

  • can have unreliable information.
  • valuable content is not free (such as useful magazine and journal articles).
  • has annoying pop-up ads, flashing banners, and advertisements.

Why Should You Use a Database?

  • because you need ARTICLES for a research paper.
  • because you need SCHOLARLY articles that have been PEER REVIEWED. 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip