Reference BooksInstructional videosEvaluating WebsitesScholarly and Peer-reviewed SourcesTopics in Education History
Books at HussonOnline E-Books
Databases A-Z
This is the "Reference Books" page of the "Education" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Education  

Last Updated: Jul 28, 2017 URL: http://libguides.husson.edu/education Print Guide RSS Updates

Reference Books Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Reference Tool: Credo Reference


Overview of topics. A good place to start research on any topic. 100 reference books online, including encyclopedias, dictionaries and images.

Video Tutorials: 

 Basic Search

 

 Find a Book

 

Mind Map Searching

 

Britannica Online: Academic

Get an overview of topics, as well as find links to articles, web sites and media clips.  Click the button and choose Britannica Online: Academic Edition from the list displayed to search.

 

General Reference

Cover Art
Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts - James Flood, Diane Lapp, James R. Squire, and Julie M. Jensen
The Handbook of Research on Teaching the English Language Arts, Second Edition co-sponsored by the International Reading Association and the national Council of Teachers of English - offers a comprehensive overview of research in the field.

Cover Art
Handbook of Research on the Education of Young Children - Olivia N. Saracho and Bernard Spodek
ISBN: 0415884357
Publication Date: 2012
An essential reference on research on early childhood education throughout the world.

Cover Art
Learning in Adulthood - Sharan B. Merriam; Rosemary S. Caffarella; Lisa M. Baumgartner; Neal S. ElAttrache
ISBN: 0787975885
Publication Date: 2006
Addresses a wide range of topics including: Who are adult learners? How do adults learn? Why are adults involved in learning activities? How does the social context shape the learning that adults are engaged in? How does aging affect learning ability?

Cover Art
American Educators' Encyclopedia - Edward L. Dejnozka; David E. Kapel; Charles S. Gifford; Marilyn B. Kapel
Call Number: LB15 .D37 1991
ISBN: 0313252696
Publication Date: 1991
Provides readers with a quick, accurate understanding of education terms and a ready reference for further direction.

Terms and Concepts

  • Education: Topic Page
    Process, beginning at birth, of developing intellectual capacity, skills, and social awareness, especially by instruction. In its more restricted sense, the term refers to the process of imparting literacy, numeracy, and a generally accepted body of knowledge. MORE
  • Illiteracy: Topic Page
    Inability to meet a certain minimum criterion of reading and writing skill. MORE
  • Intelligence Test: Topic Page
    Test that attempts to measure innate intellectual ability, rather than acquired ability. MORE
  • Intelligence: Topic Page
    In psychology, the general mental ability involved in calculating, reasoning, perceiving relationships and analogies, learning quickly, storing and retrieving information, using language fluently, classifying, generalizing, and adjusting to new situations. MORE
  • School Vouchers: Topic Page
    Government grants aimed at improving education for the children of low-income families by providing school tuition that can be used at public or private schools. MORE
  • School: Topic Page
    Term commonly referring to institutions of pre-college formal education. It also properly includes colleges, universities, and many types of special training establishments. MORE
  • Teacher Training: Topic Page
    Professional preparation of teachers, usually through formal course work and practice teaching. Although the concept of teaching as a profession is fairly new, most teachers in industrialized nations today are college or university educated. MORE
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip